It’s important to understand contact permissions when adding to and managing your contact database.
-
Subscribed contacts have given explicit consent to be contacted by you and can be contacted through Mobiz.
-
Pending contacts have not yet given explicit consent to be contacted by you, or are pending approval, and cannot be contacted through Mobiz.
-
Unsubscribed contacts have withdrawn their consent to be contacted by you and cannot be contacted through Mobiz.
Permissions when adding contacts
1. Bulk contact uploads: When uploading via CSV file, you will have to request an import so our team can confirm all contacts have given their explicit consent. This is to help ensure compliance with US rules and regulations.
Once you’ve submitted your request to import, the support team will assess the information. When approval is given your import button will change to “Import contacts.”
Top tip: to expedite the approval process we suggest removing any contacts who have not given permission to be contacted before uploading.
Once your upload has been approved, you’ll see on the first step that you again need to confirm that all contacts in the file have given you explicit consent to be contacted by your company.
Read our Uploading contacts article for a detailed guide on how to add your contacts.
2. Adding an individual contact: When adding contacts one at a time, the same consent standards apply. You can only add contacts that have given you explicit consent to contact them and you will need to state this during the process.
Depending on your permissions, an SMS may be sent to the contact to confirm their consent or inform them of their subscription to your SMS list. Should a contact need to confirm their consent, they will be added as pending and will be uncontactable until they respond YES to the SMS.
Permissions when using Text to join
When using Text to join, Mobiz will assist you in acquiring promotional permissions while building your SMS subscriber list.
You can be sure that the customers you gain through our Text to join feature are compliant and can be marketed to in the future.
Learn more about this growth tool in Creating text to join keywords.
Unsubscribing contacts
If a contact needs to be unsubscribed, for example, they contact you via email or a call center requesting such, you can “Unsubscribe" them manually as follows:
-
Navigate to the Contacts screen from your top navigation bar
-
Select the All contacts tab and select the contact you wish to update
-
Click on Edit and the contacts detail panel will appear from the right
-
Click on Actions In the top right-hand corner and then click Unsubscribe
-
Next, confirm the unsubscribe. Please note, this cannot be undone.
A note on unsubscribed contacts
Previously subscribed contacts that have been unsubscribed, either by responding STOP or manually by you using the above method, will still appear in your database unless you delete them.
Their permission status will be reflected as unsubscribed, and they will be removed from all lists and contact counts when estimating costs for any campaign. You will not be able to contact them.
For more information on contact permissions, please read our blog post on SMS compliance in the USA and refer to our Terms of Service page.